Ticking

Technical Tips, Tricks and Q & A
Doughrat19

Ticking

Post by Doughrat19 »

Ok guys, hoping someone can help me out here. So I'm an amateur mechanic, I try to fix things if I can. I usually look at videos online to learn how to do things. But right now I'm just trying to diagnose my issue. For a few weeks now I have been hearing some ticking when I get on the gas, note I do not drive the car that often. Not sure if it's possibly lifters or maybe an exhaust leak from the header gasket (I had a full exhaust system installed a couple of years ago). I tried to look under the hood while I had my girlfriend give it some gas and stick my hand near the drivers side header (I think it's coming from that side) but I honestly couldn't tell if it's coming from the header or under the valve cover. The car has over 115k on it and no engine work that I know of. Also, I've been a little worried about the amount of oil that comes out of it when I do an oil change. There is a small, and I mean small oil leak coming from somewhere. It's be parked for weeks and I'll only see a quarter sized puddle under it when I take it out. I've had the car about 5 years now and I did an oil change right when I got it and I only saw about 1 quart come out! Since then, the changes have been that bad but I still don't get close to what I put into it out of it. Unfortunately I don't remember the actual quantities the last few times. I'm hoping it's the header gasket and not the engine. What do you guys think?

Thanks,

Matt
Teal/Blk #230 - My First Mustang!
Z282SLO
Mustang Aficionado

Re: Ticking

Post by Z282SLO »

If your car is going through that much oil and you're only seeing a small amount on the ground after the car sits for awhile, it's likely an internal leak somewhere. Do you notice any smoke out of the exhaust pipes when the car is running?
03 COBRA Black with VMP
93 COBRA Black #3754 (RIP)
89 GT Black/Scarlet Red (SOLD)
86 GT Bright Red/Gray (SOLD)
Doughrat19

Post by Doughrat19 »